"If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales." Albert Einstein

20 May 2015

Prairie Fire

Johnston, E.K. Prairie Fire. Carolrhoda Books, 2015.

This second installment in the Dragon Slayer of Trondheim series follows Owen, a dragonslayer, and Siobhan, his bard, as they join the Oil Watch.  Those who enjoyed The Story of Owen will also enjoy this sequel.

I enjoyed The Story of Owen, although it wasn't a book I would have picked up based simply on the cover. I also very much enjoyed Prairie Fire. The characters are relatable, the jabs at the differences between Canada and the United States are amusing, and the story moves along at a good pace with plenty of action. I would recommend keeping tissues nearby, though.  Any further details would constitute a spoiler, so just take my word for it.

Recommended for: teens
Red Flags: none
Overall Rating: 5/5 stars

Read-Alikes: Terry Pratchett's Tiffany Aching series, Eragon, Seraphina

No comments: