"If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales." Albert Einstein

13 February 2014

Darius & Twig

Myers, Walter Dean. Darius & Twig. Amistad, 2013.

Darius is a writer; Twig is a runner.  They live in Harlem, and they are trying to find their way out of their urban destiny. As is typical in urban fiction, there are threats of gangs, bullying by some other kids, an abusive family member, etc. etc. Through it all, Darius and Twig maintain their friendship.

As I've mentioned before, I am not a fan of urban fiction.  It's not a world I understand or am interested in, so this book was a bit less enjoyable for me than it would be for the kids in my library who are obsessed with the Bluford series. This book would be a great read-alike for Nowhere to Run, and is a must-read for fans of urban fiction.

Recommended for: teens, fans of urban fiction
Red Flags: violence, drug use, abuse, language
Overall Rating: 3/5 stars

No comments: