"If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales." Albert Einstein

09 March 2015


Meyer, Marissa. Fairest. Feiwel and Friends, 2015.

This is an "in between" book that has been added to the Lunar Chronicles series. It tells the story of how Queen Levana came to rule the moon and a bit of her back story. This book serves both to give more information about the characters' back stories as well as to give readers something to chew on while they wait for the arrival of Winter.

I enjoyed this story and was glad to hear a bit about why Levana is the way she is. This story reminded me a lot of the TV show Once Upon a Time. I have heard some buzz about the book being violent, and it is, but I don't think the violence would be overwhelming to those who've read the other books in the series.

Recommended for: teens, fans of fairy tale retellings
Red Flags: violence - several people die, there is mention of blood on sheets after a character's first sexual experience
Overall Rating: 4/5 stars

Read-Alikes: Beastly, Splintered, Dorothy Must Die

No comments: